The Information Store · Welcome

Staff Profiles

The Information store can be a confusing place, but our staff are always on hand to assist you. We can show you how to search for books, teach you how to reference your essays and help you find a quiet place to study. In this series of blog posts, our lovely staff members answer some bookish questions and prove that there is more to us than “SHHHH”!

Hi, I’m Rosie and I’m one of the librarians in the Information Store.  As you might expect, I love to read and I will devour pretty much anything.  I choose my books mainly by other people’s recommendation so I don’t really like to stick to one genre in particular!

I have a hard line on not finishing books that I’m not enjoying.  I did my degree in English and American Literature and when I finished I promised myself that I would never have to read another book that didn’t completely grip me. Life is just too short.

I pretty much read everywhere but I always like to have a gigantic cup of coffee at my side to keep me wide awake.

What Hogwarts house would you be sorted into?

I am a loud and proud Slytherin.  I feel like they have a bad name and just because a couple of them turned out to be bad apples doesn’t mean I should be punished for being highly ambitious and competitive….right?!

Rosie1

Find the complete Harry Potter series in the BOOK ZONE 823.91 ROW

What is your favourite book to screen adaptation?

Hands down, The Green Mile is my favourite by, well, miles. It’s that brilliant and very rare occurrence when the film is beautiful and incredible on its own and then reading the book adds so much more to the characters while not taking anything away from the film. I saw the film before I read the book and I’m equally in love with both.

Rosie2

Find The Green Mile and other books by Stephen King in the BOOK ZONE 823.91 KIN

What book would you like to see adapted to the big screen?

Well, the book that I would have always said was On Chesil Beach by Ian McEwan which is a genuinely beautiful and heart-breaking book.  I’ve been imagining it as a film for years and then, recently, I learned that it has already been filmed and will be released later this year.  I was then filled with mixed emotions, the first of which was “Am I magic? Did I make this happen?” The second was a mixed bag which sounded something like this “Yes! No! I love it too much, what if they mess it up? What if it’s amazing? What if time isn’t real and I am actually in a film right now? What a boring monologue this would make for viewers watching my life.  Did they see me eat 4 packets of crisps earlier?”

Basically, I’m both excited and terrified that they’re making the book into a film but I think I’m cautiously optimistic that it’s going to be brilliant.

Rosie3

Find On Chesil Beach and other books by Ian McEwan in the BOOK ZONE 823.92 MAC

Has a book ever made you cry?

The real question to ask here is whether a book has ever not made me cry.  (The answer is probably no).  I get really emotional about the slightest thing and I am an unembarrassed weeper.  Films, books, television shows….if somebody’s happy, sad or just feeling a bit down in the dumps I am right there with them sharing in the emotion.  Two books that stand out for me as ones that made me cry the most are A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara (which while it’s become one of my favourite ever books, you should not read it if you don’t want to experience 737 pages of soul crushing sadness) and The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce which I picked up on a whim at my local library and made me cry so hard that I had to take a walk around the block before I could finish it.

Rosie4

Paper or eBooks?

I am an equal fan of both.  I know as a librarian, people expect me to curse eBooks with a deadly wrath but I have an iPad that I use all of the reading apps on and I think it’s brilliant.  I can also access the Norfolk Library Overdrive app which gives me free books on my iPad.  Yes, you heard me correctly.  FREE BOOKS.  I don’t even have to leave my house to get the books I want, it really is the future. Find out how to sign up to the Norfolk Digital Library here

Do you prefer to read the book before watching the movie, or watch the movie before reading the book?

I mostly prefer to read the book before I watch the film because I do like to imagine these things before I see them.  This, however, is problematic because my reading list is so long that sometimes I’m so intent on reading the book that I don’t manage to see the film.  This happens relatively regularly with films such as The Book Thief and Never Let Me Go, both books I loved but I’ve never actually managed to see the films.

Rosie5

From The Book Thief- find it at NORFOLK HOUSE 823.92 ZUS. Find Never Let Me Go in the BOOK ZONE 823.91 ISH.

What’s the best book you’ve read this year?

This was difficult because my memory is notoriously bad, so I looked at the spreadsheet I keep (for I have one and highly recommend it) and decided that the best book I’ve read (so far) this year is Oryx and Crake by Margaret Atwood. I’m a huge fan of Atwood’s and finally got round to reading this one and then enjoyed it so much I then straight away read the other two books in the series (The Year of the Flood and Maddadam). If you like dystopian novels and you’re looking to go onto something a bit more grounded in science then this is perfect, I couldn’t recommend it more highly.

Rosie6

Find Oryx and Crake in the BOOK ZONE 823.91 ATW, then check out our display on Margaret Atwood and The Handmaid’s Tale next to the GEM desk.

What’s your favourite book that nobody else seems to have read?

As with many of my favourite books, I randomly picked up Accordion Crimes by Annie Proulx and fell in love with it.  Proulx is the writer of much more famous books, Brokeback Mountain and The Shipping News but Accordion Crimes is a weird and wonderful account of the different owners of one accordion.  Sounds simple, right? Well, on the surface it is but as the accordion travels from owner to owner, each one adapts it to their own use and tells their own story.  It’s a really epic saga and I was delighted to learn that we have a copy here in the Information Store! 

Rosie7

Find Accordion Crimes and other books by Annie Proulx in the BOOK ZONE 823.91 PRO

What is the book that you read over and over again?

My favourite book has always been (and probably always will be) Jane Eyre. I read it at least once a year and I find something new I love about it every single time.  Jane is a great heroine.  She’s strong, clever and very plain, which means in the 15 or so years I’ve been reading it, I’ve found different parts of her personality appealing.  Teenage me loved that she was plain but still found a place in the world and adult me thinks that she’s fierce and oh so clever.

Another book that I read over and over again is East of Eden by John Steinbeck.  Oh you know Steinbeck; virtually everybody has read Of Mice and Men at some point in school.  East of Eden revolves around the same issues of good, evil and morality but it is far reaching and epic, spanning generations of two families in Depression Era California.  It’s certainly not a light hearted read but it’s one of the most rewarding things you can pick up.

Rosie9

 Find Jane Eyre in the BOOK ZONE 823.8 BRO; Find East of Eden and other books by John Steinbeck in the BOOK ZONE 823.91 STE.

References

Andrew_Writer (2010) DSC00091 Available at: https://flic.kr/p/8Fm5WN (Accessed: 13 June 2017)

Clardy, J (2008) John Steinbeck on Story telling… Available at: https://flic.kr/p/4ULEa7 (Accessed: 13 June 2017)

Gurzhiy, E (2007) mice Available at: https://flic.kr/p/43aRmL (Accessed: 13 June 2017)

kelly (2013) Slytherin Coat Available at: https://flic.kr/p/iLwCkR (Accessed: 13 June 2017)

Pellseck, P (2009) Margaret Atwood Available at: https://flic.kr/p/74dLps (Accessed: 13 June 2017)

sea turtle (2017) Creepy Accordion Cat Available at: https://flic.kr/p/UZV7vc (Accessed: 13 June 2017)

Septemia (2013) from The Book Thief by Markus Zusak Availabe at: https://flic.kr/p/dUquVy (Accessed: 13 June 2017)

Ubud Writers & Readers Festival (2016) Image Credit: Wirasathya Darmaja. Hanya Yanagihara: A Little Life. Neka Museum Available at: https://flic.kr/p/NMXV5e (Accessed: 13 June 2017)

Leave a Reply

